Boxer pants meet

Our next meet on Sunday August 19th, has been designated Boxer Shorts day. It’s not obligatory to make them, but if you’d like to, here’s a bunch of patterns and tutorials to consider.

Now, call them boxer shorts and wear them to bed, or tap pants and wear them under skirts, they are easy to draft and quick to sew. I’ve included a few links to tutorials for various styles.

Simple & Modern: these are the easiest to draft and sew.
http://blog.craftzine.com/archive/2011/07/how-to_make_a_custom_pair_of_t.html

Sweet & Vintage: scroll down to the circular tap pants and download the PDF. These are a little harder to sew, but have the advantage of no centre front and back seams. And I’m happy to help, once you’ve got the hang of it you’ll never look back.
http://veravenus.com/things-to-make/

If you like the idea of the circular tap pants but want a pant that isn’t so full and uses less fabric, I have a draft in an old Women’s Institute book from the 1930’s or 40’s. It’s fabulous.

I also have a few patterns for simple pants and if I rummage around I have a couple of genuine vintage “bloomer” style patterns. (Just like my Nana used to wear, I couldn’t make them without laughing uncontrollably.)

A pair of boxer shorts can be whipped up in no time, so if you haven’t got something more pressing to work on, bring some cute fabric and sort out your summer smalls.

20120728-225842.jpg

2 responses to “Boxer pants meet

  1. Hi ladies! Sorry I missed the last get together, I ended up sleeping through it after night duty :s. I’m really looking to this sewing session as I have never made boxers before or sewed with elastic. Thanks for all the pattern links! I’m very inspired by that lace trimming too- what a lovely little feminine touch! I think I might give that a go 😉 cya soon!

  2. Darn—why do I keep missing all the meets involving undies? Hoping to find some fantastic fabrics in Bali, and to fit as many lustrous lengths as possible into my hand luggage. Once again, can’t wait to hear how all the boxer patterns road-tested and to see the fabulous results!

Leave a Reply

