Bella Trousers #6011 Burda

I am very proud to present my first pair of trousers that make it to the outside world! (previous attempts have only been worn inside the house)

I used the burda pattern bella. It was featured a few weeks ago and I thought it was great. I was a bit concerned about how it will look in a “not skinny” person, but I am quite happy with the result.

Pattern sizing: The pattern has indications for size 34 to 46. I cut a 46 because of my hips, but I had to make the waist smaller. I think the measurements are a bit overestimated because I am quite sure that a 44 would have fit on the hips just fine.

Were the instructions easy to follow? They were a nightmare! I had to wing the whole waist because I had no idea what I was meant to do.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

🙂 I looooooove high waist trousers. There is a bit of room for change in the pattern: pleats or no pleats in the pockets, pockets or no pockets and the most amazing one is the sailor modification.

😦 I ended up with so much fabric at the seam of the waist with the legs that my machine couldn’t make a button hole, so some of the bottoms are “fake” and they are actually a snap fastener (susssh don’t tell anyone)

Fabric use: Light denim from the sales at Homecraft Textiles.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn’t bother with the back pockets. The high of the crotch was way to low for me, but I only realized that when the whole thing was done.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would do it again one size smaller and with a higher crotch. I have already modified the pattern, just waiting to buy more fabric… so when are we going to the sale at intangible?

4 responses to “Bella Trousers #6011 Burda

  1. Congrats on your first pair of #publictrousers, Irene (and nice fancy-labelled photos ;))! I’m excited that you’re already thinking about how to adjust the pattern to make it even better *next* time!

  2. Thanks Sarah! I did it ‘Sandra style’ folding and taping 🙂 -kind of easy though because the pattern told you where to adjust

  3. PS. Looking at other people’s bella trousers I have just realised that I have done the button holes vertically where everyone else have done it horizontally, jajajaja. Well, I told you, the instructions were rubbish

  4. Well done, Irene! Your creation is very encouraging: I’m just getting ready to attempt “man pants” for my partner, also from a Burda pattern. You’re so right about their sizing—I cannot figure out which one will be the best fit for him (and he doesn’t even have hip issues!). These look like they are very comfortable & flattering on you. Can’t wait to see your next version!

Leave a Reply

