The nipple skirt

But more on that later.

In case you don’t know, our Sandra is a regular contributor to Peppermint Magazine’s Sewing School.  I really like the origami skirt from the Autum 2011 issue.  It’s been that long before I’ve had time to sit down and do some concentrated sewing.  So, last night, I downloaded the pattern and instructions.

Sandra says you should use plain fabric, but this Ikea print seemed like it would work, and it’s sturdy enough to hold the funky 3D pleats.  And I have a contrary streak.  She also says to interface the waistband, I figured my fabric needed no more stiffening, so I didn’t.

 

 

 

 

 

First you cut out six pairs of this boot-like shape.  The pattern works for a series of sizes, but to customise, measure your waist, divide by 12, and grade the pattern piece to that measurement at the waist.  You can also lengthen or shorten.

 

 

 

 

 

Then sew the pairs of boots together, long edge to long edge, then each pair to each other pair, short edge to short edge.  This is where it gets three dimensional.  I french-seamed the pieces, but this came unstuck when I got to the putting the zip in bit.  So I zig-zagged that final seam – it’s not pretty, but it’s not going to go anywhere.

 

 

 

 

 

Turn over the waistband and the hem and you’re done.

 

 

 

 

 

And here’s the reason for the title of this post.  Unmistakeable, aren’t they?!

3 responses to “The nipple skirt

  1. Ohhh, I think we have all done things like that before & then wondered “what was I thinking”.
    Actually I have a dress pattern and the skirt is kind of similar in a unsimilar kind of way. IYKWIM
    http://www.birchstreetclothing.com/prod.php?itemID=217&colID=9

    I think if you use a drapey fabric (breaking your 1st New Years resolution) and not do french seams as they will add weight & make the seam less bendable, I think it would look ok.
    Ew! I just looked at the pattern & instructions… you brave girl!

  2. 25 year old nipples, maybe.
    I don’t know why everyone thinks French seams are the be all and end all. There are actually very few situations where they are the best choice. The goal of seams is to interfere as little as possible with the nature of the fabric. There are even instances where the best seam is a single row of stitching, with either no edge finish, or a hand overcast. That can be too big a leap for people who have only ever known factory made clothes, but poke around Antiquedress.com and look at the inside of some genuine haute couture. Very enlightening.

    In the meantime, you can get a little more flexibility in the folds by clipping right up to the seam allowance in the peaks. The seam allowances can then be manipulated to sit overlapping which will soften the nipply appearance.

    If all else fails, cushions. It’s gorgeous fabric. 🙂

  3. Oh dear. And goodness. That wasn’t meant to be controversial. I really like the skirt, I just thought it was funny. I’m going to wear it – nipples out! It’ll be interesting to see if anyone else sees the resemblance…

    It was very simple to sew, the pattern just doesn’t look like a skirt. I might make another one, perhaps, as suggested in a drapier fabric, and maybe longer and a bit fuller – a bit Edwardian.

    As for the french seams – I’ve only just worked out how to do them, and I’m a bit excited and pleased with myself.

Leave a Reply

