Blog-erific Inspiration

A while ago (this post has been sitting in “drafts” for a time) a discussion over a very yummy ladies lunch in West Perth turned to sewing blogs and inspiration. It’s funny how we speak of the bloggers we follow as if we just chatted to them or just showed us their new outfit in person – “Oh, did you see Erica B’s new jumpsuit?”

I have a list a mile long…so does a certain someone with an iPhone 😉 and so do most of you I am sure but there will be a few of you wondering who on earth is Eric B? So I thought I’d post some of the favourites from my very long list here. Feel free to pop over to the blogs you’ve never heard of and then please add your additions in the comments below. Many of these bloggers will also share a list of blogs they follow and you may end up in an endless and difficult-to-leave circle of blog reading, so don’t forget to get up from the screen occasionally and go visit your sewing machine 🙂

In no particular order:

A Few Threads Loose
Amanda’s Adventures in Sewing
Ancien-Nouveau
BurdaStyle Sewing Club Perth WA (Oh hey that’s us!)
Casey’s Elegant Musings
Confessions & Recovery of a Fabric-holic
Erica B’s – DIY Style
Fehr Trade
Gertie’s New Blog for Better Sewing
Green Apples
Handmade by Carolyn (Hi Carolyn *waves)
Home Made Couture (Hi Jacquie *waves)
Josie Loves 2 Sew (Hi Josie *waves)
Magdamagda Design Studio
Male Pattern Boldness
Miss Jackson
My Little Nook
My Messings (Hi Rachel *waves)
Nikki-Shell
Orchids in May
Oonabaloona
Pattern Scissors Cloth
Petit Main Sauvage
Sew I Thought
Sewaholic
Štepalica
The House of Mirth (Hi Rachel *waves)
The Sew Weekly
The Snug Bug
Tanit-Isis Sews
The Curious Kiwi (There’s nothing wrong with a little self promotion 😉 *waves)
The Selfish Seamstress
The Slapdash Sewist
Tilly and the Buttons
Toferet
Very Prairie
Zilredloh

If your head is exploding over how you could possibly follow so many  people then perhaps you should consider using an RSS reader. It’s like email but much more exciting (no vi46ra or you-know-what-enlargement spam) and much more controllable than signing up for endless email updates from each and every site you like. I can only recommend Goggle Reader since I am a Gmail user. If you use Gmail as well then you might notice the “Reader” link at the top of your mail page, have a click, follow your nose. Basically if you visit a site you want to follow then you can click on the RSS feed logo  which is usually up in the address bar or somewhere obvious on the site or in Google Reader click on  and copy/type the web address. Your RSS feeder reader will fill up with the sites you like and you can organise them in folders. When an author posts something new it pops up under their site name in bold and you can read it within your reader but it’s better to click the title and go to their site.

Give it a go, you’ll be RSSing in no time and then YOU can ask ME, “Did you see Peter’s new shirt?”

If I’ve sold you then promise me you’ll add this site as your first RSS feed 😉

Do you use a different RSS reader? Please recommend it in the comments below.

Another blog tracking source I recently discovered is blogloving which I don’t use but looks like a good way to keep on top of all the above sewing inspirational goodness. Maybe this is more up your alley, it seems pretty popular, even I have 6 followers, surprise! So check it out…

2 responses to “Blog-erific Inspiration

  1. I have been using netvibes for years. I have blogs organised in tabs: sewing (of course), cooking (jijiji), science (obviuosly), weather (quite important in this country 🙂 ), comics (I am quite a fan),… After so many years my RSS is getting a bit out of control… I should do a clean up (specially now that I am 30!!! arrrrr it happened last week…. 30 crisis…)

  2. sarahscustard

    I have been using Bloglovin’ for about 3 months now. When I started using Bloglovin’ it was the first time I had ever used a blog reader before… and, I was surpised how much more organised it makes my readinig – I ❤ it! (I'd be one of your Bloglovin' followers Mel!). The only thing that bugs me (though only slightly) about Bloglovin' is that it takes about 20 minutes for a new post to appear once it has been posted. This sucks because lots of bloggers have their blog and Twitter feed linked, so when a new post goes up, it is also Tweeted… but then it takes a while to appear in the reader.

    Oh, there are also some blogs that I like to read – Cup of Jo, Meet Me At Mikes etc but which, IMHO, suck in a reader. I find that I don't like to open up a new tab to read two sentences under a picture etc. It's for this reason that I'm *this close* to taking The Sew Weekly out of my reader also.

Leave a Reply

