Big news

My wonderful, amazing sewing friends, I have some exciting but sad news to share with you.

For the last 6 months my husband and I have been wrangling with a big decision regarding the “next phase” of our lives together. Basically we are at the point where we need to decide if we settle properly here in Perth (buy a house, make some babies, that kind of thing) or whether we return to New Zealand. We both desperately miss out families and decided that New Zealand is where we want to be.

The plan was to prepare ourselves mentally for the big move over the next year to 18 months and then pack up and go. As plans go this seemed pretty reasonable but as we all know, plans never go to…well…plan. Darling husband applied for a job last month on a whim. He applied for two reasons, firstly, the job was in Wellington and that’s where both our families are. Second reason, this job is a step-sideways from his current job and something he wanted to get into in the future.  He really didn’t expect to hear anything because the job was well out of his league. As it turned out the company wasn’t looking for the typical respondent, they were in fact looking for the absolute opposite. To cut a long story short, after three 1 hour phone interviews over a very tense three weeks they have offered him a job.

And so, we go to New Zealand, earlier than expected.

Wellington from Mt Victoria - November 2009

This is exciting for me because I desperately miss my home but also really sad because honestly, until I meet up with Sandra and all you girls through our amazing club, I didn’t really have any friends here. I look forward to each of our meets and wish we could meet every week to the point that some of us do catch up much more regularly, even if it is just for lunch. Something I recently learnt, having hung out with you girls, is that “real” friends aren’t the people that geography, birth year and happenstance stuck you in a classroom with for 15 years, “real” friends are the people you meet later, who you chose to hang out with because they share your sense of humour, your hobbies, your view of life. It sounds a bit mushy I know but in saying goodbye to Perth I am also saying goodbye to some of my first “real” friends, you’re all incredible and I will miss you all so much!

BSC Perth 1st meet

The plan is still a bit fuzzy, I’ll keep you in the loop, but right now we are looking at a 6 week count down. That means this next meet will probably be my last. Depending on how quickly our cars sell and how full the last week here is I may get to one more meet (although by then some men would have well and truly packed my machines in boxes and I hope they would be well on their way to the Tasman Sea), plus if that meet is at Potter’s I’ll end up with some serious over-weight baggage charges! Hehe

Wellington Harbour

The last few days have been more stressful than the ones leading up to my wedding but we won’t slip quietly away, you can be assured, there will be some form of lunch or dinner and you are all welcome to come celebrate with us.

Now for some housekeeping – I pretty much run the blog myself along with your amazing contributions and I love doing it, it satisfies my nerdy perhaps-I-should-have-gotten-into-IT tendencies but I really want to bump one or two of you up to admin so you have more control. I have a couple of you in mind but I’d like you tell me if you are interested. That goes for the Ning site (to help out Sandra) and the Facebook page as well. If you are interested let me know, they pretty much run themselves but it’s a good idea to have one or two of you “on the list” as it were.  I hope you’ll allow me to continue to be an (honorary) member of the club and I’d love to continue to contribute and post as well.

BSC Perth's 1st Birthday

But let’s not close the book, the internet makes the world that much smaller and easier and I look forward to keeping in touch with all of you, I may even get to pop back by hiding in hubby’s suitcase when he travels for work. I am easy to find – I’m on Facebook, I have an email address and a blog so please feel free to get those details off of me. And lastly, please, if you make it to NZ (which is a really cool country by the way) please come visit me. I promise to take you fabric souvenir shopping and I’ll show you why Wellington is so damn cool.

Mel xx

Typical Wellington Hillside

2 responses to “Big news

  1. Noooooooooooo! What are we going to do without you? We’ll miss you so much Mel. But I totally understand the strong call of home. Oh, this will be a big meeting this weekend if we are all saying bye to you (for a while… until we all come and descend upon you in NZ!).

  2. Mel. *sigh* I’m going to miss you! The BSCPerth club and the friendships which have emerged have been a joy to be a part of… and it wouldn’t have happened without you. So, THANK YOU!

    Tee hee hee… and that “first meet” photo made me laugh! You all look so calm and placid. Al very polite conversation. It’s not how I think of the meets these days which are much more of a loud “omg! Let me tell you about…” as we fill Sandra’s studio! (I think the 2nd meet was my first 🙂

    Oh, and as mentioned the other day, I’d be happy to give some assistance with the admin side of the website… unless there is someone super-internet-nerd who wants in. If that were to happen, I’d be more than happy to step aside and just keep posting my own posts. Think of me as your back-up plan. 😉

Leave a Reply

