Tutorial: Visualising Fabric on Patterns – Part One (Photoshop) (via the curious kiwi)

I just posted part one of a two-part tutorial over on my blog and I thought I would share it with you chiccys in case you’d like  to give it a go.

I use Adobe Photoshop to transform pattern line drawings with photographs of my fabrics to get a little taste of the end result. It’s not as hard as it looks and for those of you who don’t own Photoshop I am currently writing part two which explains  how to do get the same result using a free program called Gimp.

Tutorial: Visualising Fabric on Patterns - Part One (Photoshop) I was hoping to share some sewing with you today but I had a bit of a crazy weekend. I’ll share more of that with you later but for now, here’s what I was working on most of Saturday. I posted recently about my NERDY stash busting using Evernote. Several sharp-eyed seamstresses noticed that in my examples I had included images showing my selected fabrics with the pattern line drawing. I make these up to help me decide if I like the pattern in tha … Read More

via the curious kiwi

3 responses to “Tutorial: Visualising Fabric on Patterns – Part One (Photoshop) (via the curious kiwi)

  1. I’ve been lurking in the background ever since I came to a very early workshop (aprons – mine incorporated an old dingo flour bag, and yes, I did finish it … eventually, and it’s gone to a very loving home in Auckland). It’s been great keeping an eye on all the activity, and I am particularly enjoying the blog(s).
    I haven’t done much sewing recently, but having been getting itchy fingers: just today I recieved a Christine Jonson pattern for her Inset Jacket – this could end up in my stash of beautiful but uncut patterns, however I’m hoping it might be the one to break the drought!

    best wishes to all,

    Kate

  2. Mel, I tried Evernote. IT IS THE BEST PROGRAM EVER!!! Cheers

    • I know, right?!! Vanessa first introduced me to it and I’ve just taken it to new nerdy heights 😉 Super handy, it really does help me keep a good thumb on my sewing patterns.

Leave a Reply

