Irene’s knit culottes: Attempt #1

I have never sewn clothes before – a year ago I started a dress and it is still on the unfinished pile.  I am more into cushions, handbags, wallets,… anything where size doesn’t matter. However, in our trip to Potter´s I got an awesome piece of light blue cotton and I thought it would be great for a pair of trousers.

Long time ago I saw this free pattern in the burdatyle website. It says it is for novice! Perfect!

Pattern sizing: The pattern has indications for size 36 to 42 (and explains how to make it bigger). I cut a 40 but I realised (once cut, damm it!) that my printer has shrank the pattern by putting white margins on the pattern (rockie mistake!)


Were the instructions easy to follow?
Easy! I encounter one problem but it was my own fault. Because the cotton was very see-through I decided to put two layers of fabric. The problem was that then I didn´t know what was right and what was the wrong side and I sewed two left legs! So, unsew one leg, sew it again and I was back on track.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the width on the legs. I found it very flattering for people with big tights (like me). I didn´t like the length (so I changed that)

Fabric use: Cotton from Potter´s  and a old grey T-shirt for the waist.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made them longer than the pattern suggested.  The pattern is meant to be just above the knee, but I want it up to half my calf (I think it is more stylish!)

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I definitely will be sewing it again (will print it properly though!). It may be ´too-simple´ for experience sewers as it is not really a challenge but I like it 🙂

So, the final product is on the left. Due to my stupidity when printing the pattern, it turned out too tight on my hips, but I have learnt my lesson.

I would love to sew it again with two alterations: full length and higher waist.  I have the full length under control, but I am not sure how to make it higher waist, I would love it to look like this trousers from HarveyCloth:

5 responses to “Irene’s knit culottes: Attempt #1

  1. I love me some culottes. I made a pair last year (my first fly front!) which were a fun addition to my wardrobe. Are your pair made out of a stretch fabric? Or does it just have a knit for the waist?? I don’t get how you get these on/get them to stay up! Oooh, and those HarveyCloth trousers are gorgeous!

  2. I love those HarveyCloth trousers too! They look so comfy plus I love a good flare/wide leg pant 🙂

  3. sarahscustard

    I love the idea of those HarveyCloth trousers being worn to a formal event… the wide leg is so beautifully balanced by the nipped in waist!

  4. It seems like we need someone to made the pattern for those trousers 🙂
    I LOVE HarveyCloth clothes, last spring was one of my favourites!
    http://www.harveyfaircloth.com/spring/ss10_looks.html

    but it is not available in Australia 😦

Leave a Reply

