On the Prowl

I recently watched a so-so American rom/com (“Timer”) which featured some rather fetching ensembles on Emma Caulfield. The styles were very ladylike, tailored yet feminine, and with simple lines in lush fabrics. There were oodles of tastefully pleated crepe blouses and ruffle-hemmed silk dresses, and I’m keen to completely rip off pay homage to some of these specimens.  Here’s an example of the frock I’d like to create:

Does anyone have good pattern suggestions for this? And what about fabric selection? I’m loving the red, but perhaps something slightly less opaque…any thoughts?

4 responses to “On the Prowl

  1. Vanessa (BSC Perth)

    How dopey, I’ve only just got what “rubyslypprz” stands for. I think there is a burda mag pattern with a similar top of the dress. I’ll have a look and let you know.

  2. I love this dress, so pretty but not in a frou frou way, plus I am a sucker for frills 🙂 It reminds me of a Simplicity ‘Project Runway’ pattern I have, it’ s not on their site anymore, must be oop, but here’s a pic I found: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/patterns/sewingpatterns.pl?patternid=23512
    Maybe you can combine a blouse top (I love the JJ because of its fit and it has frills too) and add the waist band and skirt?

  3. Thanks for the great suggestions, ladies! I’m especially fond of the tidy rows of slender ruffles plus the almost “horseshoe” neckline—I could see a pair of slender ribbon ties, mayhaps? Now to find a few meters of subtley crinkled crimson silk!

  4. It isn’t quite the same around the neck but this Vogue pattern has some of the same features – and you can add the ruffles. It is a size 14 – 16 and I’ve taken a crap photo at https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/_zBCzYba4qPw/TXdxEwjBdrI/AAAAAAAABpA/733wnPXbbA4/s128/R0017105.JPG – I’ll bring it along on Sunday just in case. If you like it – it is yours. I bought it so long ago there was a Lincraft in town and I’ve never made it and it is time to donate it to someone who might actually make it up.

Leave a Reply

