Sew, where do you sew?

I really liked Sarah’s idea of “Inspiration Posts” so I’m jumping on the band wagon because, as my hard-drive can attest, you can never have too much inspiration 😉

My first inspiration post is going to be about sewing spaces! We all dream about the perfect sewing room don’t we? I’ve been collected images from all over the web to inspire my current sewing space (and future dream sewing space) and what I’ve learnt is that it doesn’t matter whether you have an entire studio, a single room, or a cupboard, there are heaps of great ideas for your space.

Here is a small selection from my image collection. Images link to their source if I had it and I apologise in advance for any lack of credit. I’ve been saving these images to a folder for ages, sometimes I get them from one site via another site and so on, sometimes the memory of where they came from is long gone, if you spot an image and know where I got it feel free to credit below in the comments and I will edit it back in.

So lets start with the smallest of the small, proving you don’t need a lot of space to sew, you just need a bit of clever organisation and possibly several trips to Ikea 😉 This Ikea hack of the Billy bookcase is way too clever, closing away to hide everything, all you need to add is a fold away table and you are set to sew.

Ikea Billy Bookcase Hack via Craftzine

Got one of those fold away laundries that fit into a cupboard? You don’t need that laundry, convert it to a sewing space like these two fantastic examples:

Good storage solution (via Container Store)

Close it all away when done

I think this is a doll house scale armoire but I love the idea of finding a vintage cabinet and fitting it out (in real life 1:1 scale that is):

Sometimes all you need is a well organised table in your own little corner:

Kangaroo & Joey by Kangaroo Kabinets

Colourful Sewing Corner

If you are lucky enough to have a bit more space, say a whole room to yourself:

Overhead shelving is good for your "small" fabric collection - the fabric you let your husband see that is!

And don’t forget to personalise your space a little bit:

What’s the best sewing space idea you’ve seen?

Right, now back to your sewing space and get creative 🙂 I’d love to see some of your amazing work, feel free to email me a picture of your latest project (or your sewing space) and a few words about it so we can share with the group.

2 responses to “Sew, where do you sew?

  1. Just last weekend my landlord finally took horrible bed from the guest room, so the room is now my creative room! (the ‘room of crap’ according to my boyfriend based on the amount of weird things that I accumulate: laces, buttons, bottle corks, plastic bottles,.. : ) ).

  2. There are so many great ideas there but that Billy Bookcase one is AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

